Biographies of Directors

The WIEGO Board of Directors is comprised of:

  • three representatives of membership-based organizations of informal workers (one of whom serves as the Chair)
  • two representatives each from WIEGO's other two constituencies: researchers and development practitioners, and
  • other persons needed to carry out the functions of the Board.

The current Directors, most elected or re-elected to the Board at the WIEGO General Assembly in 2018, are:

Mirai Chatterjee
Mirai Chatterjee, Chair of the Board

Director of the Social Security Team
at Self-Employed Women’s Association, (SEWA), India

Read full bio

Barbro BudinBarbro Budin

International Union of Food and Allied Workers,

Read full bio


Gabriela Calandria Alvarez profileGabriela Calandria Alvarez

StreetNet / AFFE, Uruguay

Read full bio



Debra Davis profileDebra Davis (Treasurer)

Independent Consultant, UK

Read full bio



Luciana Itikawa profileLuciana Fukimoto Itikawa

University of Sao Paulo, Brazil

Read full bio



Lin Lim profileLin Lim

Independent Consultant, Malaysia

Read full bio



Patrick Ndlovu

Patrick Ndlovu

Asiye eTafuleni, South Africa

Read full bio



Uma RaniUma Rani

International Labour Organization, India

Read full bio



William SteelWilliam Steel

University of Ghana, Ghana

Read full bio



Renana Jhabvala profileFormer Board member and past chair

Renana Jhabvala

Self-Employed Women’s Association, India
Read full bio